16:00 Philharmonie Berlin

Ton Koopman & Mario Brunello

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

Sinfonie G-Dur Wq 183/4

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

Konzert für Violoncello, Streichorchester und Basso continuo A-Dur Wq 172

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

Sinfonie D-Dur Wq 183/1

Jean-Féry Rebel

“Le cahos” aus “Les élémens”

Joseph Haydn

Sinfonie Nr. 98 B-Dur Hob I:98

Ton Koopman


Mario Brunello

Violoncello piccolo

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Rebels among themselves

Ton Koopman, at the RSB for the first time, comes straight away with Rebel. And as a rebel. The world-renowned expert on historically informed performance practice of the 18th century places the spectacular dissonance of the musical beginning of the French creation myth in the context of another, no less rebellious “creation” composer: Haydn. In between, however, master cellist Mario Brunnello and the sensitively unleashed RSB cavort in the rebellious chaos of Bach’s son Carl Philipp Emanuel. His crescendos and rockets, designed by the Mannheim School, which was stirring up the music world at the time, brush the emerging musical epoch considerably against the grain before the classical period can assert itself in an orderly and smoothing manner.

Concert introduction: 3.10 p.m., South Foyer, concert introduction by Steffen Georgi

Concert with

More concerts