20:00 Philharmonie Berlin

Nicholas Carter & James Ehnes

Maurice Ravel

“Le Tombeau de Couperin” – Suite für Orchester

Erich Wolfgang Korngold

Violin Concerto in D major, op. 35

Richard Strauss

“Ein Heldenleben” (A Hero’s Life), Op. 40

Nicholas Carter


James Ehnes


Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Being part of the whole

“It was his conviction that the tonal system was not exhausted, could never be exhausted; that there were still infinite melodic and harmonic sound combinations waiting in space for their “redeemer”. He often compared the artistic creative process to that of eternally renewing nature.” Luzi Korngold’s approach, handed down from her husband, to music as a perpetual continuity inherent in nature is one of the most sympathetic and fruitful theories of music ever put forward by man. Nicholas Carter’s whole programme is to be understood under this aegis. And James Ehnes is the right soloist to bring Korngold’s “Attempt for the Survival of the Melodic Type of Symphonic Music” to bursting life.
Ravel and Strauss locate themselves no less clearly than Korngold in the tradition of music. If in “Heldenleben” Strauss narrates autobiographically-good-naturedly and thoroughly self-ironically a “Maulheldenleben”, elsewhere he dealt just as lovingly as his French colleague Ravel with the once legendary harpsichord master and composer François Couperin.

Concert introduction: 7.10 p.m., South Foyer, concert introduction by Steffen Georgi

Concert with



More concerts