20:00 Konzerthaus Berlin

Antonello Manacorda & Maximilian Hornung

Camille Saint-Saëns

“La Danse macabre” op. 40

Camille Saint-Saëns

Konzert für Violoncello und Orchester Nr. 1 a-Moll op. 33

Camille Saint-Saëns

Konzert für Violoncello und Orchester Nr. 2 d-Moll op. 119

Jean Sibelius

Symphony No. 5 in E-flat major, op. 82

Antonello Manacorda


Maximilian Hornung


Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Passion from the North

Perhaps Italians like Antonello Manacorda should conduct the proud music of the Northerner Sibelius more often. For Sibelius saw himself as a passionate admirer of the European South, for whom “Nordic melancholy embodied the longing for the South idealised from afar” (Tomi Mäkelä). Before the Finnish composer’s proud Symphony No. 5, music by Camille Saint-Saëns floods the concert hall. The well-travelled French Beethoven admirer composed two cello concertos, one more brilliant than the other, and perhaps for that very reason not epically rambling. So Maximilian Hornung can demonstrate his skills on both works at once. But Saint-Säens lays out the red carpet for himself (and for us), a catchy tune with an almost devilish grin: “La Danse macabre”.

Concert with


More concerts