19:00 Haus des Rundfunks

Ultraschall – Festival for new Music

Alexey Retinsky

"C-Dur" for string orchestra (2020)

Elnaz Seyedi

"a mark of our breath" for orchestra

Olga Rayeva

"On the sea" for button accordion and large orchestra
(world premiere)

Oscar Bianchi

"Exordium" for orchestra

Farzia Fallah

"Traces of a Burning Mass" for orchestra

Vladimir Jurowski


Roman Yusipey

Button accordion

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Vladimir Jurowski sees himself as a politically aware artist who intervenes and takes a stand on current events. The RSB’s concert at Ultraschall Berlin is therefore particularly characterised by current affairs.

Olga Rayeva: On the sea

Many of her compositions deal with the theme of the sea. This is no coincidence: her early childhood is deeply connected with two cities: Moscow, where there is no sea, and Mariupol, where her mother’s parents lived at the time. She was always very happy in Mariupol and dreamed her whole life of being back there one day, near the somewhat murky, green Sea of Azov. She would then walk along an alleyway in this southern city to the small theatre…

Now neither the theatre nor the town itself exists.

This is a personal tragedy for Olga. The events of the last few years have destroyed her to a large extent internally. And the only way for a composer to deal with trauma is to write music.

Elnaz Seyedi: a mark of our breath

Elnaz Seyedi’s compositions are influenced by literature, architecture and the visual arts as well as her studies in computer science. The sounds often oscillate between rigour and delicacy. Her work “a mark of our breath” was premiered as part of the concert series ‘Miniatures of Time’ – a series of twelve short orchestral pieces commissioned by Westdeutscher Rundfunk from various composers. They all deal with issues of our time, such as sustainability or the coronavirus crisis. Elnaz Seyedi himself writes about a mark of our breath:

“The composition was created in 2021 during a stay in Wendland. Inspired by the expansive view with three quarters of the sky, which is different in every weather and every time of day, but actually always spectacular, and a landscape with a rich spectrum of green and later in autumn of yellow. The piece begins in this peaceful landscape, which gradually breaks up from within. The human voices – played and sung simultaneously in the brass instruments – are on the one hand part of this landscape, enriching it with their very special colour. On the other hand, their flipside is the destruction of the seemingly original.”

Farzia Fallah “Traces of a Burning Mass” for orchestra

Like Seyedi, Farzia Fallah was also born in Iran. Her orchestral work, for which she received the Heidelberg Women Artists’ Prize, was written during the protests against the violent death of Mahsa Amini in police custody in autumn 2022: musical traces of a burning, angry, freedom-loving mass.


The concert can be heard on the radio on the following dates:

Deutschlandfunk Kultur: 18 January 2024, 8:03 pm
rbbKultur: 12 March 2024, 11:03 pm


About the festival:

The “Ultraschall – Festival for New Music” presents recently created works in a music-historical context that goes back to the beginnings of the post-war avant-garde, a period that now spans more than 70 years.

In recent years, more and more premieres and first performances have been presented at the festival, and some of the works are also commissioned by the festival, but the approach remains the same: to give space to current trends in contemporary music and at the same time to categorise these current productions in terms of music history.




More concerts