20:00 Philharmonie Berlin

Dima Slobodeniouk & Javier Perianes

Ludwig van Beethoven

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 5 in E flat major op. 73

Jean Sibelius

"Aallottaret" (The Okeanids) - Symphonic Poem op. 73

Claude Debussy

"La Mer" - Three symphonic sketches for full orchestra

Dima Slobodeniouk


Javier Perianes


Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

We have learnt it from the water

A sunrise on the sea. Flutes shine like the sun over the waves of the strings. This is pure impressionism, it could describe a passage from Claude Debussy’s “La mer”. But it illustrates a composition by Jean Sibelius: “Die Okeaniden”, called “Rondeau der Wellen” by the Finnish musician in German. Sibelius wrote the impressionistic water music for his own concert tour to the USA in spring 1914, nine years after Debussy’s “La mer”. Both works are now directly opposite each other in the RSB concert under the direction of Dima Slobodeniouk. Before that, there will be the opportunity to hear the 45-year-old Spanish pianist Javier Perianes, who performs in all the world’s renowned concert halls, in his second concert with the RSB (after his debut in 2017) with Beethoven’s mighty Piano Concerto No. 5 in E flat major.

For personal reasons, Seong-Jin Cho will not be playing the concerto. We have been able to engage the outstanding pianist Javier Perianes for Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 5.

Concert introduction: 19.10 Uhr, Südfoyer, Konzerteinführung von Steffen Georgi

Concert with

Media partner

More concerts