Vladimir Jurowski
chief conductor & artistic director

Vladimir Jurowski has been the chief conductor and artistic director of the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin (RSB) since 2017. Right from the start, he has a programme policy at heart that reaches deep into the social relevance of public concerts. Here, it is clear to Vladimir Jurowski that such a responsibility in dealing with music performers and audiences can lead away from the traditional comfort zone and “the bourgeois way of enjoying art” (Jurowski)to a certain extent: “It is important that it shakes up. You have to accept this risk if you want to make a difference at all”, he confessed to Albrecht Selge in an interview for the online magazine “VAN” in 2018.

Vladimir Jurowski fotografiert von Simon Pauly
Vladimir Jurowski © Simon Pauly

Started in 2017/2018 with Beethoven symphonies in versions by Gustav Mahler, combined with music from the Second Viennese School, continued in 2018/2019 with works by Brett Dean and Gustav Mahler in the context of an RSB season under the motto “Human and their habitat”, Vladimir Jurowski will present compositions in Berlin in 2019/2020, which illuminate the inner values ​​of the human being, allow them to become familiar with the foreign, and help him critically question the familiar.

The conductor, pianist, and musicologist Jurowski knows no musical-historical, stylistic, or conducting technique related boundaries. Nothing is further from him as a personal goal than that imaginary point at which a person could say: I have finished learning. “Perhaps Jurowski is even the ideal student among the conductors: not because he is wandering, but because he is piercing” (Albrecht Selge). He is equally an accomplished advocate of the most recent works of contemporary music and the historically informed performance practice of the Baroque and Classical eras. His specialities include the music of the transition phase of the Fin de Siècle by Strauss and Mahler and the musical masterpieces of 20th century, e.g. by Stravinsky, Shostakovich or Prokofiev. And he is of course proficient in the 19th century symphonic core repertoire of Beethoven, Brahms, Tchaikovsky, and Dvořák.

Training and engagements

Trained first at the Moscow Conservatory, in the city where he was born in 1972, Vladimir Jurowski came to Germany in 1990 with his family. Here he continued his studies at the conservatories in Dresden and Berlin – conducting under Rolf Reuter; as répétiteur and song accompanist under Semion Skigin. In 1996, he made his début internationally at the Wexford Festival with Rimsky-Korsakov’s “May Night” and at the Royal Opera House Covent Garden in the same year with “Nabucco”. Next, he was the principal conductor of the Komische Oper Berlin (1997 – 2001) and music director of the Glyndebourne Festival Opera (2001 – 2013). In 2003, Vladimir Jurowski was appointed the principal guest conductor of the London Philharmonic Orchestra and has been the principal conductor since 2007. In addition, he is the artistic director of the State Academic Symphony Orchestra “Yevgeny Svetlanov” of the Russian Federation, artistic director of the International George Enescu Festival in Bucharest and principal artist of the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment in Great Britain. He regularly works with the Chamber Orchestra of Europe and the ensemble unitedberlin. With the start of the 2021/2022 season, Vladimir Jurowski will assume one of the most prestigious positions in the German musical life in addition to his involvement with the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin: He has been the designated general music director of the Bayerische Staatsoper in Munich since 2018.

What tempts him about Berlin is that he can work in the city where his family lives, without giving up his involvements in London, Moscow, New York, Amsterdam, Salzburg, or Munich. He has settled for the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin because he knows and appreciates it since he was a student. “I always felt that this is an orchestra I can relate to.”

Concerts worldwide

Vladimir Jurowski is sought after as a guest conductor all over the world. He has conducted concerts of major orchestras in Europe and North America, including the Berliner Philharmoniker, the Wiener Philharmoniker, the New Yorker Philharmoniker, the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam, the Cleveland and the Philadelphia Orchestra, the Symphony Orchestra of Boston and Chicago, the Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, the Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden and the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig.

In the spring of 2019, he performed in Japan with the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin, and concerts will be performed at the George Enescu Festival in Bucharest in the fall of 2019. He has conducted the London Philharmonic Orchestra at festivals such as the BBC Proms, the George Enescu Festival in Bucharest, the Musikfest Berlin, the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival and the Rostropovich Festival in Moscow. 2018 reflected the spirit of a concert series with works by Stravinsky and his influences and contemporaries. In addition, Jurowski conducted concertante opera performances such as Enescu’s “Oedipe” (in London and Bucharest) and Wagner’s “Rheingold”. Highlights included Beethoven’s “Fidelio”, Mahler’s Symphony No. 8, Penderecki’s St. Luke Passion and Bach’s Christmas Oratorio. He has developed a striking individual profile in Russia with the “Yevgeny Svetlanov” State Academic Symphony Orchestra, focusing strongly on the contemporary repertoire and exploring references of Shakespeare in music, theatre, and film of the former Soviet Union.

As a guest, Vladimir Jurowski conducted Prokofiev’s “Semyon Kotko” with the Radio Filharmonisch Orkest der Niederlande at the Concertgebouw Amsterdam, made his début at the Salzburg Easter Festivals with the Staatskapelle Dresden, made his début with the Czech Philharmonic, joined the Gustav-Mahler-Jugendorchester and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra at the Lucerne Festival and managed a unique project with the London Sinfonietta in Moscow on the occasion of the Anglo-Russian year of cultural exchange.

Opera conducting

Vladimir Jurowski has been on the international opera stages since 1996. With “Rigoletto” he made his début at the Metropolitan Opera New York and has been there again with “Jenůfa”, “The Queen of Spades”, “Hänsel und Gretel” and “Frau ohne Schatten”. He conducted “Parsifal” and “Wozzeck” at the Welsh National Opera, “War and Peace” and the 1869 original version of “Boris Godunov” at the Opéra National de Paris, “Eugene Onegin” at the Scala in Milan, “Ruslan and Lyudmila” at the Bolshoi Theatre as well as “Iolanthe”, “The Devils of Loudon” at the Dresdner Semperoper and “Die Gezeichneten” at the Opernhaus Zürich. At the opera festival in Glyndebourne, he directed works such as “The Magic Flute”, “Otello”, “Macbeth”, “Falstaff”, “Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg”, “Tristan und Isolde”, “Don Giovanni”, “The Rake’s Progress”, “The Cunning Little Vixen”, “Ariadne auf Naxos”, and Peter Eötvös’s “Love and Other Demons”. In 2017, he returned to the Glyndebourne Opera for the world premiere of Brett Dean’s “Hamlet”. In 2015, he directed a celebrated new production of Schönberg’s “Moses und Aron” at the Komische Oper Berlin and made his début at the Bayerische Staatsoper with Prokofiev’s “The Fiery Angel”. He made his début with Alban Berg’s “Wozzeck” at the Salzburg Festival in 2017. In 2019 he conducted the world premiere of Alexander Vustin’s Jacques Cazotte opera “The Devil in Love” at the Moscow Stanislavsky Theatre.

CDs and DVDs

The first joint CD by Vladimir Jurowski and the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin from 2015 became a milestone almost immediately: Alfred Schnittke’s powerful Symphony No. 3 was followed in 2017 by a Strauss-Mahler recording and violin concertos by Britten and Hindemith (Arabella Steinbacher) with the RSB. Other studio recordings and RSB concert recordings on CD are being prepared or in planning. With the PENTATONE label, Vladimir Jurowski also presented a series of Russian works with the Russian National Orchestra. The CD spectrum with the London Philharmonic Orchestra includes all symphonies by Brahms, Mahler’s First and Second Symphony, Tchaikovsky’s Symphonies No. 1, 4, 5, 6 and “Manfred”, works by Beethoven, Turnage, Holst, Britten, Vaughan Williams, Shostakovich, Zemlinsky, Honegger, Haydn, and Rachmaninoff. Jurowski’s days as the music director of the Glyndebourne Opera has been documented with numerous CD and DVD releases. Other DVDs include “Hansel and Gretel” from the Metropolitan Opera New York, Beethoven’s Symphonies No. 4 and 7 with the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment and works by Strauss and Ravel with the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, all published by Medici Arts.

Honours and awards

Vladimir Jurowski has received many awards for his achievements, including numerous international record awards. Most recently, the jury of the Royal Philharmonic Society Music Awards voted him Conductor of the Year of 2018. Two years earlier, he had received an honorary doctorate from the Royal College of Music in London from the hands of Prince Charles.

Our website uses cookies which are necessary for the functionality of our website and for user-behavior analysis thereof. By using this website you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with all details of our data protection clause.

accept

Vladimir Jurowski
Chefdirigent & Künstlerischer Leiter

Vladimir Jurowski ist seit 2017 Chefdirigent und Künstlerischer Leiter des Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchesters Berlin (RSB).
Von Beginn an liegt ihm eine tief in die gesellschaftliche Relevanz von öffentlichen Konzerten hineingreifende Programmpolitik am Herzen. Dabei ist sich Vladimir Jurowski klar darüber, dass eine solche Verantwortung im Umgang mit Musik Interpreten wie Publikum ein Stück weit aus der traditionellen Komfortzone und „der bürgerlichen Art, die Kunst zu ‚genießen‘“ (Jurowski) herausführen kann: „Wichtig ist, dass sie wachrüttelt. Dieses Risiko muss man in Kauf nehmen, wenn man überhaupt etwas bewirken will“, bekennt er 2018 im Interview für das Onlinemagazin „VAN“ gegenüber Albrecht Selge.

Vladimir Jurowski fotografiert von Simon Pauly
Vladimir Jurowski © Simon Pauly

Begonnen 2017/2018 mit Beethoven-Sinfonien in Fassungen von Gustav Mahler, kombiniert mit Musik der Zweiten Wiener Schule, fortgesetzt 2018/2019 mit Werken von Brett Dean und Gustav Mahler im Kontext einer RSB-Saison unter dem Motto „Der Mensch und sein Lebensraum“, stellt Vladimir Jurowski 2019/2020 in Berlin Kompositionen zur Diskussion, welche die inneren Werte des Menschen beleuchten, ihm Fremdes vertraut werden lassen und ihm helfen, Gewohntes kritisch zu hinterfragen.

Der Dirigent, Pianist und Musikwissenschaftler Jurowski kennt keine musikgeschichtlichen, stilistischen oder dirigiertechnischen Grenzen. Nichts liegt ihm als persönliches Ziel ferner als jener imaginäre Punkt, an dem ein Mensch sagen könnte: Ich habe ausgelernt. „Vielleicht ist Jurowski sogar der ideale Student unter den Dirigenten: nicht weil er bummelt, sondern weil er bohrt“ (Albrecht Selge). Er ist gleichermaßen ein versierter Anwalt der allerneuesten Werke der zeitgenössischen Musik wie der historisch informierten Aufführungspraxis des Barock- und des Klassikzeitalters. Die Musik der Umbruchphase des Fin de Siècle etwa von Strauss und Mahler gehört ebenso zu seinen Spezialitäten wie die Meisterwerke der Musik des 20. Jahrhunderts, z. B. von Strawinsky, Schostakowitsch oder Prokofjew. Und natürlich ist er zu Hause im sinfonischen Kernrepertoire des 19. Jahrhunderts von Beethoven und Brahms, von Tschaikowsky und Dvořák.

„Egal, ob er sich ans Publikum oder an seine Musikerinnen und Musiker wendet, ob er Stimme oder Taktstock dabei einsetzt – der Chefdirigent des Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchesters Berlin hat Wesentliches zu sagen.“
(Der Tagesspiegel, 2019)

Ausbildung und Engagements

Ausgebildet zunächst an der Musikhochschule des Konservatoriums in Moskau, in jener Stadt, wo er 1972 geboren worden war, kam Vladimir Jurowski 1990 mit seiner Familie nach Deutschland. Hier setzte er sein Studium an den Musikhochschulen in Dresden und Berlin fort – Dirigieren bei Rolf Reuter; Korrepetition und Liedbegleitung bei Semion Skigin. 1996 debütierte er auf internationaler Ebene beim britischen Wexford Festival mit Rimski-Korsakows „Mainacht“ und im selben Jahr am Royal Opera House Covent Garden mit „Nabucco“.
Anschließend war er u. a. Erster Kapellmeister der Komischen Oper Berlin (1997– 2001) und Musikdirektor der Glyndebourne Festival Opera (2001–2013). 2003 wurde Vladimir Jurowski zum Ersten Gastdirigenten des London Philharmonic Orchestra ernannt und ist seit 2007 dessen Principal Conductor.
Darüber hinaus ist er Künstlerischer Leiter des Staatlichen Akademischen Sinfonieorchesters „Jewgeni Swetlanow“ der Russischen Föderation, Künstlerischer Leiter des Internationalen George-Enescu-Festivals in Bukarest und Principal Artist des Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment in Großbritannien. Er arbeitet regelmäßig mit dem Chamber Orchestra of Europe und dem ensemble unitedberlin. Mit Beginn der Saison 2021/2022 wird Vladimir Jurowski zusätzlich zu seinem Engagement beim Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin eine der renommiertesten Positionen im deutschen Musikleben übernehmen: Er ist seit 2018 designierter Generalmusikdirektor der Bayerischen Staatsoper in München.

An Berlin reizt ihn, dass er in der Stadt, in der seine Familie lebt, auch arbeiten kann, ohne dafür seine Engagements in London, Moskau, New York, Amsterdam, Salzburg oder München aufzugeben. Für das Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin hat er sich entschieden, weil er es bereits seit seiner Studienzeit kennt und schätzt. „Ich hatte immer das Gefühl, dass das ein Orchester ist, mit dem ich mich gut verstehen kann.“

Konzerte weltweit

Vladimir Jurowski ist auf der ganzen Welt als Gastdirigent gefragt. Er hat Konzerte der bedeutenden Orchester Europas und Nordamerikas geleitet, darunter die Berliner, Wiener und New Yorker Philharmoniker, das Königliche Concertgebouworchester Amsterdam, das Cleveland und das Philadelphia Orchestra, die Sinfonieorchester von Boston und Chicago, das Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, die Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden und das Gewandhausorchester Leipzig.

Mit dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin konzertierte er im Frühjahr 2019 in Japan, im Herbst 2019 stehen Konzerte beim George-Enescu-Festival in Bukarest an. Das London Philharmonic Orchestra dirigierte er bei Festivals wie den BBC Proms, dem George-Enescu-Festival in Bukarest, dem Musikfest Berlin, dem Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival und dem Rostropowitsch-Festival Moskau. 2018 stand im Zeichen einer Konzertreihe mit Werken von Strawinsky und dessen Einflüssen und Zeitgenossen. Außerdem dirigierte Jurowski konzertante Opernaufführungen wie Enescus „Oedipe“ (in London und Bukarest) und Wagners „Rheingold“. Zu den Höhepunkten zählten Beethovens „Fidelio“, Mahlers Sinfonie Nr. 8, Pendereckis Lukaspassion und Bachs Weihnachtsoratorium. Mit dem Staatlichen Akademischen Sinfonieorchester „Jewgeni Swetlanow“ hat er in Russland ein markantes individuelles Profil entwickelt, das einen starken Fokus auf das zeitgenössische Repertoire richtet und Shakespeare-Bezüge in Musik,
Theater und Film der früheren Sowjetunion erforscht.

Als Gast dirigierte Vladimir Jurowski Prokofjews „Semjon Kotko“ mit dem Radio Filharmonisch Orkest der Niederlande im Concertgebouw Amsterdam, gab sein Debüt bei den Salzburger Osterfestspielen mit der Staatskapelle Dresden, debütierte bei der Tschechischen Philharmonie, trat mit dem Gustav-Mahler-Jugendorchester und dem Mahler Chamber Orchestra beim Lucerne Festival auf und leitete ein einzigartiges Projekt mit der London Sinfonietta in Moskau anlässlich des Anglo-Russischen Jahres des kulturellen Austausches.

Operndirigate

Vladimir Jurowski ist seit 1996 auf den internationalen Opernbühnen zu Hause. Mit „Rigoletto“ debütierte er an der Metropolitan Opera New York und war seitdem u. a. mit „Jenůfa“, „Pique Dame“, „Hänsel und Gretel“ und „Die Frau ohne Schatten“ erneut dort zu erleben. Er dirigierte „Parsifal“ und „Wozzeck“ an der Welsh National Opera, „Krieg und Frieden“ und die 1869er-Originalversion von „Boris Godunow“ an der Opéra National de Paris, „Eugen Onegin“ an der Mailänder Scala, „Ruslan und Ljudmila“ am Bolschoi-Theater sowie „Jolanthe“, „Die Teufel von Loudon“ an der Dresdner Semperoper und „Die Gezeichneten“ am Opernhaus Zürich. Beim Opernfestival in Glyndebourne leitete er Werke wie „Die Zauberflöte“, „Otello“, „Macbeth“, „Falstaff“, „Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg“, „Tristan und Isolde“, „Don Giovanni“, „The Rake’s Progress“, „Das schlaue Füchslein“, „Ariadne auf Naxos“ und Peter Eötvös’ „Love and Other Demons“. 2017 kehrte er an die Glyndebourne Opera für die Weltpremiere von Brett Deans „Hamlet“ zurück. 2015 leitete er an der Komischen Oper Berlin eine gefeierte Neuproduktion von Schönbergs „Moses und Aron“ und gab sein Debüt an der Bayerischen Staatsoper mit Prokofjews „Der feurige Engel“. Bei den Salzburger Festspielen debütierte er 2017 mit Alban Bergs „Wozzeck“. 2019 leitete er am Moskauer Stanislawski-Theater die Uraufführung von Alexander Vustins Jacques-Cazotte-Oper „Der Teufel in der Liebe“.

CDs und DVDs

Die erste gemeinsame CD von Vladimir Jurowski und dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin aus dem Jahre 2015 wurde sogleich zu einem Meilenstein. Alfred Schnittkes gewaltiger Sinfonie Nr. 3 folgten 2017 eine Strauss-Mahler-Aufnahme und Violinkonzerte von Britten und Hindemith (Arabella Steinbacher) mit dem RSB. Weitere Studioaufnahmen und RSB-Konzertmitschnitte auf CD sind in Vorbereitung bzw. in Planung. Für das Label PENTATONE legte Vladimir Jurowski außerdem eine Reihe von russischen Werken mit dem Russischen Nationalorchester vor. Das CD-Spektrum mit dem London Philharmonic Orchestra umfasst alle Sinfonien von Brahms, Mahlers Erste und Zweite Sinfonie, Tschaikowskys Sinfonien Nr. 1, 4, 5, 6 und „Manfred“, Werke von Beethoven, Turnage, Holst, Britten, Vaughan Williams, Schostakowitsch, Zemlinsky, Honegger, Haydn und Rachmaninow. Die Zeit Jurowskis als Musikdirektor der Glyndebourne Opera wurde mit zahlreichen CD- und DVD-Veröffentlichungen dokumentiert. Weitere DVDs enthalten „Hänsel und Gretel“ aus der Metropolitan Opera New York, die Sinfonien Nr. 4 und 7 von Beethoven mit dem Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment und Werke von Strauss und Ravel mit dem Chamber Orchestra of Europe, alle veröffentlicht von Medici Arts.

Ehrungen und Preise

Vladimir Jurowski wurde vielfach für seine Leistungen ausgezeichnet, darunter mit zahlreichen internationalen Schallplattenpreisen. Zuletzt kürte ihn die Jury der Royal Philharmonic Society Music Awards zum Dirigenten des Jahres 2018. Zwei Jahre zuvor hatte er aus den Händen von Prince Charles die Ehrendoktorwürde des Royal College of Music in London erhalten.

Buchen Sie 3 Konzerte mit Vladimir Jurowski
zu einem Vorteilspreis von 111 €

Konzertpaket
buchen

Das Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin verwendet Cookies, die für die Funktionalität und Analyse des Nutzerverhaltens auf der Webseite notwendig sind. Durch die Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie dem Einsatz von Cookies zu, wie Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung im Detail ausgeführt sind.

akzeptieren