Julia Fischer ©
Sun 27 March 2022 - 8 pm | Konzerthaus Berlin

Dancing on the volcano

Vladimir Jurowski & Julia Fischer

Rachmaninoff summons the Day of Wrath, Shostakovich imposes a reckoning with Stalinism on the symphonically integrated solo violin. A heroic role for Julia Fischer

from € 20 Symphony concert Concert with the chief conductor


Dmitri Shostakovich Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 77

Sergei Prokofiev Andante aus der Klaviersonate Nr. 4 – für Orchester bearbeitet von Sergei Prokofjew op. 29bis

Sergei Rachmaninoff Sinfonische Tänze op. 45


Vladimir Jurowski - Conductor

Julia Fischer - Violin

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Concert with

Logo rbb kulturradio

Dancing on the volcano

In 1940, Sergei Rachmaninoff not only concealed some captivating music under the innocuous title Symphonic Dances, but in the last movement, in the heat of battle he summons the medieval Dies irae, the Day of Wrath. Dmitri Shostakovich expects of the symphonically integrated solo violin part to convey nothing short of Judgment Day for Stalinism – a fitting role for world-class artist Julia Fischer. However, the key details are hardly noticeable on a single hearing. For they happen so ludicrously fast that the tempo in this case acts as a mask. The scherzo whirls by – in garish colours, grimacing yet grinning – that not only the Stalinists felt as if they had been beaten to death by it.

This is preceded by Vladimir Jurowski once again presenting a rarity that has it all: the orchestral arrangement of the second movement, Andante assai, of the Piano Sonata No. 4 op. 29 b by Sergei Prokofiev.



Vladimir Jurowski © Simon Pauly

Vladimir Jurowski


Julia Fischer © Uwe Arens

Julia Fischer


Ticket information

Sun 27 March 2022 - 8 pm Konzerthaus Berlin

Start of Ticket sales will be announced