Trompete Kampagne 2019/2020 © RobertNiemeyer/MolinaVisuals
Thu 17 March 2022 - 7.30 pm | silent green Kulturquartier

Sound mirrors

Chamber concert

Seven Romances by Shostakovich and Tchaikovsky's Trio for piano, violin and violoncello

Chamber concert from € 20


Dmitri Shostakovich Sieben Romanzen für Sopran, Violine, Violoncello und Klavier nach Worten von Alexander Blok op. 127

Pyotr Tchaikovsky Trio für Klavier, Violine und Violoncello a-Moll op. 50


Maria Pflüger - Violin

Jörg Breuninger - Violoncello

Philip Mayers - Piano

Johanna Winkel - soprano

Sound mirrors

It was not Shostakovich’s manner to take on windmills through fiery speech, but he rather argued subtly and succinctly through musical means, often sharper and clearer than some masters of verbosity. Those who wanted to hear, understood. Those who do not want to hear, do not understand. Even today.

The year is 1967: 50 years since the Great Socialist October Revolution. What a disaster. This is the message conveyed by the Seven Romances on Poems by Alexander Blok, composed by Dmitri Shostakovich. Ophelia laments the violent, senseless death of her lover; the modern city paralysed by leaden hopelessness and bleak monotony. Even in the final chord the music refuses to console. Is there any way out?

“Yes! We are playing the Tchaikovsky Trio! Surely that’s one of the 1000 things you should have done in your life! We are looking forward to it.” (Maria Pflüger) Having been cancelled in January 2021, hopefully it can finally take place.

Ticket information

Thu 17 March 2022 - 7.30 pm silent green Kulturquartier