Sat 15 January 2022 - 8 pm & Sun 16 January 2022 - 8 pm | Konzerthaus Berlin & Philharmonie Berlin

A dream concert

Vladimir Jurowski & Seong-Jin Cho

Yelena Firsova’s homage to the teacher, Robert's declaration of love to Clara and the last symphony of one of the last vocational symphonists

Symphony concert from € 20 Concert with the chief conductor Composer in Residence


Jelena Firssowa “Der Garten der Träume” (Hommage an Schostakowitsch) für Orchester op. 111

Robert Schumann Konzert für Klavier und Orchester a-Moll op. 54

Dmitri Shostakovich Symphony No. 15 in A major op. 141


Vladimir Jurowski - Conductor

Seong-Jin Cho - Piano

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Concert with

A dream concert

In 2006, on the occasion of the 100th birthday of Dmitri Shostakovich, Yelena Firsova composed an orchestral homage to the great role model. She chose the significant image of a richly decorated garden, in which, upon closer examination of the plants, she had repeatedly come across Shostakovich’s initials DSCH. Accordingly, the initials are found in her work, along with passages from String Quartet No. 7, “one of my favourites.” The last symphony of the honoured composer is also rich in dream sequences and mysterious associations. After forty minutes of inner struggle, the Fifteenth ends with a simple plea to finally let go, perhaps one of the most difficult human tasks.

In order to be able to pass such an existential test, one might turn to love as a source of endless life energy. To this end, Robert Schumann has more than once chosen just the right musical words.



Vladimir Jurowski © Simon Pauly

Vladimir Jurowski


Seong-Jin Cho


Ticket information

Sat 15 January 2022 - 8 pm Konzerthaus Berlin

choose a seat

Sun 16 January 2022 - 8 pm Philharmonie Berlin

choose a seat