Sun 10 October 2021 - 4 pm | Philharmonie Berlin

The riders of rhythm

Markus Poschner & Alexej Gerassimez

Minimalist fireworks, film symphonic pop. Plus Beethoven's symphonic plea for rhythm

Symphony concert


Ludwig van Beethoven Ouvertüre zu Collins Trauerspiel “Coriolan” c-Moll op. 62

John Psathas “Leviathan” – Konzert für Schlagzeug und Orchester

Ludwig van Beethoven Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92


Markus Poschner - Conductor

Alexej Gerassimez - Percussion

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Concert with

The riders of rhythm

Ludwig van Beethoven’s most turbulent symphony, a finale of pure rhythm. The galloping Seventh springs gleefully over the sticks and stones of the tedium of life, a true catharsis. At the beginning of the concert, in the Coriolan overture, another rhythmic component: the cavalry march, an expression of a relentless forward charge, even at the risk of ruin.

How does one manage to fit a contemporary percussion concerto in the middle? Through aurally gratifying postmodern borrowings from minimalism, film symphonies and pop music. In terms of rousing power, the new work is in no way inferior to the classics; on the contrary, the outstanding Alexei Gerassimez will ignite, to exciting rhythmic effect, all the amazing sonorities of various percussion instruments. So much metrical energy would be almost unbearable, were it not for the second movement of Beethoven’s A major Symphony…



Markus Poschner © Kerschi

Markus Poschner


Alexej Gerassimez © Nikolaj Lund

Alexej Gerassimez


Ticket information

Sun 10 October 2021 - 4 pm Philharmonie Berlin

choose a seat

Other concerts