20:00 Philharmonie Berlin

Musikfest Berlin

Iannis Xenakis

“Aïs” for baritone, solo percussion & orchestra

Béla Bartók

Konzert für Violine und Orchester op. posth. Sz 36

Gustav Mahler

Symphony No. 5 C sharp minor

Vladimir Jurowski


Georg Nigl


Dirk Rothbrust


Vilde Frang


Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

100 years of Xenakis. Architect and musician, an archaic spirit, even more radical than the avant-garde, hardly to be grasped by conventional standards. “Aïs” refers to the realm of the dead of Greek antiquity. A baritone and a percussionist celebrate texts from three sources: Homer, Sappho, Iliad – whispering poetry, desperate cries. And bursts of energy from 96 orchestral musicians, steel towers of clay of apocalyptic proportions, glissando waterfalls like natural events. Vladimir Jurowski’s answer to Xenakis is Mahler 5, which is no less existential, shattering to the core, and which also includes the dimension of love. In between, Vilde Frang – for the first time with the RSB – makes Bartók’s enchanting, imaginary bridal gift to the violinist Stefi Geyer her own, unheard by her at the time, in 1907.

Concert with


Cooperation partner


More concerts