Kühlhaus Berlin© RSB
Thu 27 January 2022 - 7.30 pm | Kühlhaus Berlin

Seven plus one

Chamber concert

It's going to be big: Beethoven's septet and Schubert's almost 60-minute octet

Chamber concert from € 20


Ludwig van Beethoven Septett für Klarinette, Horn, Fagott, Violine, Viola, Violoncello und Kontrabass Es-Dur op. 20

Franz Schubert Oktett F-Dur op. post. 166 D 803


Michael Kern - Clarinet

Sung Kwon You - Bassoon

Dániel Ember - Horn

Enrico Palascino - Violin

Martin Eßmann - Violin

Alejandro Regueira Caumel - Viola

Georg Boge - Violoncello

Hermann F. Stützer - Double Bass

Musicians of the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Seven plus one

After Joseph Haydn’s oratorio The Creation was first heard in England in 1798, Ludwig van Beethoven wrote to Vienna’s greatest music authority about his Septet op. 20: “Maestro Haydn, this is my Creation.”

RSB violinist Enrico Palascino, who put together the Beethoven-Schubert program, argues, “An act of liberation and an affront at the same time. It was precisely this work that then helped Schubert in 1824 to free himself from his writing paralysis. In this case, the idolised and highly esteemed model of Beethoven inspired Schubert and helped him find a ‘his way’ anew.” The result was the nearly 60-minute Octet, of which the slow movement oscillates between calm and restlessness. Annette Kolb calls the movement “the tireless flower! Radiantly it rises and dreamily with such a beguiling, never failing fragrance that we cannot bear to part with. Has the clarinet ever spoken to us more purely, indeed, more classically?” Suddenly it becomes clear from which transcendent Schubertian spheres the inspirations for the clarinet quintet of the late Brahms could have been sourced.

Ticket information

Thu 27 January 2022 - 7.30 pm Kühlhaus Berlin