Composer in residence
Marko Nikodijević

Marko Nikodijevic © Aleksandar Stanojevic

“Since working with Vladimir Jurowski for the first time in 2014 in Brussels and London, I really wanted to write a piece for him, and have it premiered with him. This composition has now matured for a long time and I am very happy that we can realise the project with the RSB, which I have already heard in several concerts and really appreciate.”(Marko Nikodijević)

For the 2019/2020 season, Vladimir Jurowski and the RSB have invited Marko Nikodijević as composer in residence. Born in Serbia, he studied composition in Belgrade between 1995 and 2003, before moving to Stuttgart in 2003, where he still lives today. From 2012 to 2013, he held a scholarship at the Cité Internationale des Arts in Paris. In 2013, Marko Nikodijević received one of the three composer awards from the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung, and in 2014 he was awarded the German Music Authors’ Award in the young talent promotion category.

Deeply and sustainably influenced by Techno, he lets geometrical structures and digital technologies play a major role in his music. He likes to make use of works by other composers such as Gesualdo, Vivier or Liszt, sometimes only of the smallest nuclei of the music or computer-generated fragments, compressions, stretching and/or layering of the original works. Using computer algorithms, borrowing from electronic dance music and folk music, using live electronics and opulent orchestral lustre, he creates worlds of new sounds in which technical finesse meets sentimentality that touches and stirs.

Two of his compositions will be premiered by the RSB during the season, one conducted by Vladimir Jurowski and the other as part of “Ultraschall Berlin”. In another concert programme commemorating the end of the WWII 75 years ago, Vladimir Jurowski will conduct the orchestral work “cvetić, kućica … / la lugubre gondola” (2009), a funeral music for a 5-year-old girl who was murdered in the Kosovo war, based on the famous piano piece by Franz Liszt.

“Nikodijević’s obvious and less obvious connections to the technoid musical culture are, in addition to structural aspects, a much more fundamental phenomenon, which ultimately has something in common with Richard Wagner, Claude Vivier and the Berghain: that of unboundedness. A hypnotic withdrawal in transcendent spheres of hearing is also inherent in Nikodijević’s compositions; … “(Dirk Wieschollek, nmz 6/14).

Immerse yourself in the boundless sound worlds of Marko Nikodijević spanning over centuries!

Our website uses cookies which are necessary for the functionality of our website and for user-behavior analysis thereof. By using this website you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with all details of our data protection clause.

accept

Composer in Residence
Marko Nikodijević

Marko Nikodijevic © Aleksandar Stanojevic
Marko Nikodijević © Aleksandar Stanojević

„Seit ich 2014 zum ersten Mal mit Vladimir Jurowski in Brüssel und London gearbeitet habe, wollte ich unbedingt ein Werk für ihn schreiben und es mit ihm zur Uraufführung bringen. Diese Komposition hatte nun lange Zeit zu reifen und ich bin sehr glücklich, dass wir das Projekt mit dem RSB realisieren können, das ich bereits in einigen Konzerten hören konnte und sehr schätze.“(Marko Nikodijević)

Für die Spielzeit 2019/2020 haben Vladimir Jurowski und das RSB Marko Nikodijević als Composer in Residence eingeladen. Der gebürtige Serbe studierte zwischen 1995 und 2003 in Belgrad Komposition, bevor ihn ein Aufbaustudium 2003 nach Stuttgart führte, wo er bis heute seinen Lebensmittelpunkt hat. Von 2012 bis 2013 war er als Stipendiat an der Cité internationale des arts in Paris. 2013 erhielt Marko Nikodijević einen der drei Komponisten- Förderpreise der Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung und 2014 wurde er mit dem Deutschen Musikautorenpreis in der Kategorie Nachwuchsförderung ausgezeichnet.

Tief und nachhaltig von Techno beeinflusst, spielen in seiner Musik geometrische Strukturen und digitale Technologien eine tragende Rolle. Gerne greift er auf Werke von anderen Komponisten wie Gesualdo, Vivier oder Liszt zurück, teils nur auf kleinste Keimzellen der Musik oder auf von Computern erstellte Fragmentierungen, Komprimierungen, Dehnungen und/oder Schichtungen der Originalwerke. Mithilfe von Computeralgorithmen, Anleihen bei elektronischer Tanzmusik und Volksmusik, dem Einsatz von Live-Elektronik und opulentem Orchesterglanz lässt er neue Klangwelten entstehen, in denen technische Raffinesse auf eine Sentimentalität trifft, die berührt und erschüttert.

Zwei seiner Kompositionen bringt das RSB in der Spielzeit zur Uraufführung, eine unter der Leitung von Vladimir Jurowski und eine im Rahmen von „Ultraschall Berlin“. In einem weiteren Konzertprogramm zum Gedenken an das Kriegsende vor 75 Jahren dirigiert Vladimir Jurowski das Orchesterwerk „cvetić, kućica … / la lugubre gondola“ („blümchen, häuschen … / die trauergondel“, 2009), eine auf dem berühmten Klavierstück von Franz Liszt beruhende Trauermusik für ein 5-jähriges Mädchen, das im Kosovokrieg ermordet wurde.

„Nikodijevićs offensichtliche und weniger offensichtliche Verbindungen zur technoiden Musikkultur betreffen neben strukturellen Aspekten ein viel grundlegenderes Phänomen, das in letzter Konsequenz Richard Wagner, Claude Vivier und das Berghain gemeinsam haben: das der Entgrenzung. Ein hypnotisches Abheben in transzendente Bezirke des Hörens ist auch Nikodijevićs Kompositionen zu eigen; …“ (Dirk Wieschollek, nmz 6/14).

Tauchen Sie mit uns ein in die Jahrhunderte überspannenden, grenzenlosen Klangwelten von Marko Nikodijević!

Das Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin verwendet Cookies, die für die Funktionalität und Analyse des Nutzerverhaltens auf der Webseite notwendig sind. Durch die Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie dem Einsatz von Cookies zu, wie Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung im Detail ausgeführt sind.

akzeptieren