Jelena Firssowa
Composer-in-Residence

 

Jelena Firssowa © Dmitri Smirnov
Jelena Firssowa © Dmitri Smirnov

 

Jelena Firssowa was born in 1950 in Leningrad and grew up in Moscow.
She received her first composition lessons at the age of 16. From 1970 to 1975 she studied at the Moscow Conservatory with Alexander Pirumov (composition ), Yuri Cholopov (music theory) and Nikolai Rakov (instrumentation). From 1975 she was in intensive musical contact with the composers Edison Denisov and Philipp Herschkowitz, a student of Anton Webern and Alban Berg who had emigrated from Vienna to Moscow.
In 1979 her works were performed in Western countries for the first time- with great success. In the same year, she and her husband, the composer Dmitri Smirnov, were attacked by the Russian Composers’ Union, who claimed they were “not worthy of the Soviet Union.” In the course of the Perestroika, Jelena Firssowa was granted permission to travel abroad for the first time. Together with Edison Denisov and Dmitri Smirnov, she founded the Association of Contemporary Composers ASM, which performed new music in Russia and abroad with an ensemble of their own. In 1990 Firssowa moved to England with her family.
From 1993 to 1997 Firssowa was visiting professor and composer in residence at Keele University and from 1999 to 2001 she taught composition at the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester. Since then she has worked as a freelance composer.
Yelena Firssova has created well over 150 works to date, including operas, cantatas, concertos and orchestral works, as well as a large number of chamber music. She has received commissions from the BBC, WDR and ZDF, the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival and the Kissinger Sommer, Expo 2000 and the Hilliard Ensemble, as well as from the Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam and the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse. In September 2003, her “Akhmatova Requiem” was premiered at the Berlin Konzerthaus. Most recently she wrote a double concerto for violin, cello and orchestra for the DSO Berlin and the Norrköping Symphony Orchestra and was composer in residence at the summer concerts in Rudersdal, Denmark.

Jelena Firssowa
Composer-in-Residence

 

Jelena Firssowa © Dmitri Smirnov
Jelena Firssowa © Dmitri Smirnov

 

Jelena Firssowa wurde 1950 in Leningrad geboren und wuchs in Moskau auf.
Den ersten Kompositionsunterricht erhielt sie im Alter von 16 Jahren. Von 1970 bis 1975 studierte sie am Moskauer Konservatorium Komposition bei Alexander Pirumow, Musiktheorie bei Juri Cholopow und Instrumentation bei Nikolai Rakow. Ab 1975 stand sie in einem intensiven musikalischen Kontakt mit dem Komponisten Edison Denissow und mit Philipp Herschkowitz, einem von Wien nach Moskau emigrierten Schüler Anton Weberns und Alban Bergs.
1979 wurden ihre Werke erstmals und mit großem Erfolg im westlichen Ausland aufgeführt. Im selben Jahr wurden sie und ihr Mann, der Komponist Dmitri Smirnow, vom russischen Komponistenverband als „nicht sowjetwürdig“ angegriffen. Im Zuge der Perestroika erhielt Jelena Firssowa zum ersten Mal die Erlaubnis, ins Ausland zu reisen. Gemeinsam mit Edison Denissow und Dmitri Smirnow gründete sie die Vereinigung zeitgenössischer Komponisten ASM, die mit einem eigenen Ensemble Neue Musik im In- und Ausland aufführte. 1990 übersiedelte Firssowa mit ihrer Familie nach England.
Von 1993 bis 1997 war Firssowa Gastprofessorin und Composer in residence an der Keele University, und von 1999 bis 2001 lehrte sie Komposition am Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester. Seitdem arbeitet sie als freischaffende Komponistin.
Weit über 150 Werke hat Jelena Firssowa bisher geschaffen, darunter Opern, Kantaten, Konzerte und Orchesterwerke, aber auch eine Vielzahl an Kammermusikwerken. Sie erhielt Kompositionsaufträge u.a. von der BBC, von WDR und ZDF, vom Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival und dem Kissinger Sommer, von der Expo 2000 und dem Hilliard Ensemble sowie vom Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam und dem Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse. Im September 2003 wurde ihr „Achmatowa-Requiem“ im Berliner Konzerthaus uraufgeführt. Zuletzt schrieb sie ein Doppelkonzert für Violine, Violoncello und Orchester für das DSO Berlin und das Sinfonieorchester Norrköping und war Composer in residence bei den Sommerkonzerten im dänischen Rudersdal.